OPETH Announces ‘Garden Of The Titans’ Screening In Los Angeles

On November 2, Swedish progressive metallers OPETH will release their new live album, “Garden Of The Titans: Live At Red Rocks Amphitheatre”, via Moderbolaget Records / Nuclear Blast Entertainment. Captured for DVD, Blu-ray and vinyl formats during the band’s May 11, 2017 performance at the legendary Red Rocks Amphitheatre in Denver, Colorado, this concert showcases the unique beauty of both classic and new OPETH tracks. 

To celebrate, OPETH is offering a one-time screening of the concert at The Motalbán Theater (1615 Vine Street) in Los Angeles. On November 1, fans can gather to view the historic concert on the big-screen with incredible surround sound. Doors will take place at 8:30 p.m. and tickets are now available here.

Video footage for “Garden Of The Titans” was overseen by The Deka Brothers (CARPENTER BRUT, THE PRODIGY) and audio was mixed by David Castillo(KATATONIA, BLOODBATH). All versions feature the masterful artwork of revered artist Travis Smith(NEVERMORE, KATATONIA, TESTAMENT).

“Garden Of The Titans: Live At Red Rocks Amphitheatre” track listing:

01. Sorceress (live) 
02. Ghost Of Perdition (live)  
03. Demon Of The Fall (live)  
04. The Wilde Flowers (live)  
05. In My Time Of Need (live)  
06. The Devil’s Orchard (live)  
07. Cusp Of Eternity (live)  
08. Heir Apparent (live)  
09. Era (live)  
10. Deliverance (live)

OPETH released the limited 10-inch vinyl “Ghost Of Perdition (Live)” on October 19 in the following formats:

* 10″ pink sparkle in sleeve (limited to 700) 
* 10″ violet sparkle in sleeve (NB mailorder exclusive, limited to 300) 
* 10″ toffee in sleeve (NB mailorder exclusive, limited to 250) 
* 10″ summer bronze in sleeve (NB mailorder exclusive, limited to 250)

Side A contains the haunting live version of the band’s classic “Ghost Of Perdition” (live), while the previously released “Sorceress” (live) can be found on Side B.

OPETH guitarist Fredrik Åkesson recently told FaceCulture that the band has commenced the songwriting process for the follow-up to 2016’s “Sorceress” album. “We’re very much into the demoing,” he said. “I’ve recorded a lot of solos so far. And Mikael [Åkerfeldt, guitar/vocals] has almost already written 12 songs for the new album, so we have more material than enough for an album. But I think we will at least try to finish 15 songs. So hopefully we’ll work on song ideas very soon.”

According to Åkesson, OPETH is hoping to release its 13th studio album in the first quarter of 2019. “I’m not sure if it’s gonna happen, but we’re working towards that, and the songwriting goes very well,” he said. “Mikael has been very productive these last… since January, basically. We did the last touring for ‘Sorceress’ in November.”

Regarding the musical direction of the new OPETHmaterial, Fredrik said: “Compared to the last three albums, I would say, if I can reveal anything, this album is more complex, more energetic, and I think it’s gonna be something.”

Åkesson went on to say that OPETH always tries to explore new ground with every album and it isn’t overly concerned with how its music will be received by its fans. “The first filter is the guys in the band, I would say,” he said. “If we enjoy it, we can only hope that people that enjoy listening to OPETH will enjoy it; that would be nice. But if we’re happy with it, we will release it; it’s quite simple. I think this is kind of a Mikael question in a way, since he’s the creative director for the band, so I know, speaking for him a little bit here, that he always tries to push everything into something new. And I think people will enjoy this new album.”

“Sorceress” was released in September 2016. For the band’s first effort for Nuclear Blast via OPETH‘s imprint label Moderbolaget Records, the group returned to Rockfield Studios in Wales, also home to pivotal releases from QUEEN, RUSH and JUDAS PRIEST, where the Swedes had tracked “Pale Communion” in 2014 with Tom Dalgety.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s