Now Streaming on Decibel Ravenous’ ”Hubris”

L-R: Ravenous Current Line Up
Skyler Mills (Guitar) | Dave Crnkovic (Drums) | R. A. Voltaire (Vocals) | Chris Valax (Bass) | Jake Wright (Guitar)
Photo Credit – Monika Deviat

Album guests:
Vincent ‘Jake’ Jones of Aether RealmHeinrich Yoshio of Aether RealmMathias Blad of FalconerNina Osegueda of A Sound of Thunder
The Dread Crew of Oddwood (Full Band)

Over the last couple of months, Canada’s Ravenous have been whetting our appetites for their latest offering “Hubris”. Now the main course is ready to dive into. The album is currently streaming on Decibel Magazine and has released on October 22, 2021 via Feast Beast Records (NA/EU) / Spiritual Beast (Asia).

Listen to it in full at the following link –

The majority of the album was written in two weeks by vocalist R. A. Voltaire and guitarist Jake Wright who take an initial riff as the starting seed which is nurtured with chorus or pre and post-

Choruses laid upon with verses and bridges representing a slight departure in intensity or just “overall power-metalness”. That skeleton is then recorded in their home studio and distributed across all band members to implement changes – each member presents new or modified ideas pertaining to their instrument, and when the overall structure is confirmed, the lyrics are finally written. The band explains their method in their own words:

“The idea is not only to create a melody that resonates with listeners, and not only write inspiring, creative lyrics, but to also tie them together in a way that makes sense sonically and intuitively to the song (and of course, allows the singer to breathe at some point!) Each song on “Hubris” has been carefully penned as a cautionary tale reflecting the motif of arrogance and downfall. Those finalized demos become our listening material for months, as we carefully craft alternate versions and sections, even modified during the recording process.”

Ravenous takes performance, writing, and musicianship seriously, but allows tongue-in-cheek humour and pop culture references to resonate through the songs. From the symphonic Sabaton-esque “Carnage in Carthage” (best served with a shot of fireball and a meatball sub) to the straight rock n’ roll anthem “March of Hunger” (best served with a bong rip followed by taquitos and a slurpee) to the extra enjoyable, folk metal drinking song “Claw is the Law” featuring The Dread Crew of Oddwood’s accordions and mandolins, paired obvious, with White Claw.

Each of the ten tracks offers something different, so whatever your poison, whatever your midnight snack, Ravenous has the perfect musical accompaniment. They are recommended listening for fans of Sabaton, Unleash the Archers and Falconer.

“Hubris” was produced by Ravenous with mixing and mastering done by Fredrik Nordström (In Flames, Opeth, Firewind) along with album guests Vincent ‘Jake’ Jones of Aether Realm, Heinrich Yoshio of Aether Realm, Mathias Blad of Falconer, Nina Osegueda of A Sound of Thunder, The Dread Crew of Oddwood (Full Band).

“Hubris” releases on October 22, 2021 with a regular edition and a Japanese version with bonus tracks. 

Animated music videos for “Die 1000 Deaths” ft. Heinrich Yoshio of Aether Realm plus lyric video “Astral Elixir” are available on the band’s YouTube.

Album order at

Track Listing:
1. Carnage in Carthage (4:37)
2. Astral Elixir (5:16)
3. Son of Storms (4:33)
4. Die 1000 Deaths (5:24) (3rd Guitar Solo by Heinrich Yoshio of Aether Realm)
5. Bridgeburner (6:10)
6. The Alder Queen (3:17) (ft. Lead Vocals by Nina Osegueda of A Sound of Thunder)
7. March of Hunger (4:47)
8. Claw is the Law (5:24) (ft. Lead Vocals, Accordion, Mandolin, and Gang Vocals by The Dread Crew of Oddwood)
9. Onwards & Upwards (4:09) (ft. Lead Vocals by Mathias Blad of Falconer)
10. …Of Beasts and Faust (10:21) (ft. Lead Vocals by Vincent Jones of Aether Realm)
Total Length 53:57
Japanese Version Exclusives
11. Cakaw Te Partiro (Bonus) – 3:13
12. 一瞬千撃 (Bonus) – 5:25
Total Length 62:34

For more info:

Norwegian Death Metal Féleth Premiere ‘Ravenous’ via SlamWorldWide

Nestled in the small northern Norwegian town of Alta, far above the Arctic circle, there’s a rumbling of brutality shaking the earth from a young, dynamic metal quintet known as Féleth. Creating heavy, melodic assaults, that transcends the traditional limits of the genre, these great northern Norwegians, are taking their influences of death metal, thrash, deathcore, rock and even elements of Jazz to unleash to the world their debut album “Depravity” due out via DeadPop Records on May 22, 2020.

Today, the band’s fourth single single ‘Ravenous’ is ready to be revealed via its premiere on SlamWorldWide HERE

With songs like ‘Swan Song’ showing off their deathcore influences, to the epic ‘Dissolution’ jumping from death metal to jazz to black metal seamlessly, and tracks like ‘Pale Tongue’ transforming from in your face death metal to a beautiful ambient soundscape, Féleth is a band that is ready to rise to the occasion and leap into the international moshpit.

The album was mixed and mastered by death metal legend, Christian Donaldson (Cryptopsy, Shadow of Intent, The Agonist, Beyond Creation) at The Grid Productions. The album also features guest vocals from hometown hero, singer/songwriter Petter Carlsen.

Lyrically the album pulls away from traditional death metal tropes, to also criticize capitalism, pollution, fake news, and the depravity of humanity at large. Musically, the full length features beautiful melodic leads, heavy chugging guitars, bass solo’s, fast intricate drum work, and the huge vocal range from the lead vocalist, Espen Dagenborg.

The band’s first two singles off “Depravity” can be heard at the following links:
‘Pestilence’ YouTube
‘Swan Song’YouTube

Track Listing:
1. Ember (4:12)
2. Hollow Words (3:26)
3. Ravenous (4:11)
4. Arise (4:18)
5. Dissolution (4:12)
6. Pestilence (4:42)
7. Pale Tongue (5:48)
8. Swan Song (4:48)
Album Length: 35:40

Album Credits:
Mixing & Mastering: Christian Donaldson
Producer & Recording engineer: Liam Knott
Artwork: Eric Hyrcza at Kahinienn Graphix
Lyrics by: Espen Dagenborg
Music by: Espen Dagenborg,  Alexander Stamnes, Thomas Nyvoll, Brage Ingebrigtsen Westgaard and Aleksander Alsen

Band Members:
Vocals: Espen Dagenborg
Guitar: Alexander Stamnes
Guitar: Thomas Nyvoll
Bass: Brage Ingebrigtsen Westgaard
Drums: Aleksander Alsen

For more info:

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: